About SBS


It started in the fall of 2000. B.C. Read gathered a few friends at a restaurant to gauge the interest in starting a Blues Festival in Saskatoon to pick up some of the artists who would be at Regina's "Mid-Winter Blues Festival". There was general agreement with the idea, but we felt we should get a society organized first.

In January, 2001 the SASKATOON BLUES SOCIETY (SBS) was incorporated with the goal to promote, foster, support, and celebrate Blues music in Saskatoon and Saskatchewan. Our objectives were to organise an annual Blues Festival; to create additional performance opportunities for local musicians; to provide opportunities for listeners and players of the blues to share their knowledge and experience with others, educating the people of Saskatchewan about the diversity of the blues; to partner with other organizations and associations to support and further common goals; and to provide opportunities for local and regional musicians to advance their understanding, skills, and enjoyment of blues music.

The  SASKATOON BLUES SOCIETY is a registered non-profit completely run by volunteers - we have no paid staff. We are an affiliate of the Blues Foundation, which represents Blues Societies throughout the world.

2023-2024 SBS Board members

President:  Emma Finch

Vice President: not yet filled

Secretary/Treasurer: Kevin Shook

Artistic Director: Stan Budgell

Lance Knight

Alan Long

Trent Schmiedge

Martha Spike

Lloyd Tomzak

Tammy Utigard

Murray Webb

 History of SBS performers (not yet complete)